Quick News  

  • Registration for the 2024 Annual Conference on August 4-7 is open! Attendees, visit the events page to register and learn more. Exhibitors, visit the exhibitor page for information. The conference will be held at the St. Cloud River's Edge Convention Center.
  • Industry members, we've got *brand new* opportunities for you! Position yourself as a leader in school nutrition by supporting MSNA’s unique sponsorship program! View the prospectus to learn more.
  • May 3, 2024 has been officially recognized by the State of Minnesota as School Lunch Hero Day! Read the proclamation here.
  • Our latest member spotlight features Katie Possone, Kitchen Manager at St. Michael-Albertville Schools. Read about Katie here.
  • What's happening at MSNA? Check out the 'What's Happening at MSNA' March Feature.
  • MSNA advocacy in action! MSNA's 2024 Position Paper is gaining traction. President Michele Hawkinson testified in support of HF 3556 to increase student seat time, and HF 3471 was introduced to address milk reimbursement.

Member Spotlight

Katie Possone, Kitchen Manager at St. Michael-Albertville Schools. Read about Katie here.

To read past member spotlights, click here

Nominate a Colleague You Admire!

There is no time like the season of giving to recognize the hard work of our colleagues in the school nutrition profession who go above and beyond. The SNA Awards program highlights the outstanding and important work of SNA members and state affiliates. Members and state associations are eligible for a variety of honors that recognize their achievements in school foodservice, leadership, membership recruitment and professional development. Nominations are closed for 2024 and will open this fall for 2025 nominations.

Employee of the Year Award
Manager of the Year Award, in honor of Louise Sublette
Director of the Year Award
National Industry Member of the Year Award  

MSNA Members in the News!

4/9: Congratulations to Jennifer Walters, Director of School Nutrition for Winona Area Public Schools, who received the Winona State University President's Civic Engagement Community Partner Award. Check out photos here

4/2: Congratulations to Heather Hart and Antonia Nelson from Mounds View Public Schools' Sunnyside Elementary School for winning an honorable mention award from the Minnesota Department of Education in its recent "Say Yes to School Breakfast campaign photo contest."

3/27: Three Minnesota school nutrition programs have received national recognition for their outstanding summer meal programs. Congratulations to Centennial Schools, Foley Public Schools, and Lake City Public Schools for being awarded the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Turnip the Beet Award.

3/18: Emily Malone, Prior Lake-Savage Area Schools' director of child nutrition and MSNA President-Elect, was interviewed by the Prior Lake American, discussing challenges in school nutrition, as well as her experience at the School Nutrition Association’s annual Legislative Action Conference.

3/15: Christine Haslock, Burnsville High School Food Service Associate, was awarded with the school district's Spirit of Excellence award as part of the annual district's Community of Excellence award program.

3/12: Darcy Stueber is the Edge Magazine's national CDM, CFPP of the month! Read about her experience in school nutrition and learn what she urges young professionals to do. Darcy is the MSNA Public Policy Committee Chair and Director of School Food Service for Mankato Schools.

3/11: Jess Pena, Nutrition Director for Red Wing Schools and SNA Public Policy & Legislative Committee member, talked to the Republican Eagle about her expectations for SNA’s Legislative Action Conference.

Find past news stories here!