2021-22 MSNA Election Candidates

The 2021 election to be held between May 1-15, 2021. MSNA will be conducting the election through online voting, via a Survey Monkey link that will be emailed to all MSNA school members (no Industry members). When the election opens on the morning of May 1, members should look for an email sent from Survey Monkey. If not found in "Inbox," first check “Spam,” “Clutter” and “Other” folders. For election rules and candidates bios, click here

Slate of Candidates

Vice President
Michele Hawkinson, Tracy ISD
Nutrition Chair
Kimberly Hinrichs, Buffalo/Montrose/Hanover ISD
Jennifer Walters, Winona ISD
Leadership Development Committee
Kathy Faust, Cross Lake Community Schools
Valerie Johns, Eden Prairie ISD
Glen Ritter, Inver Grove Heights/So. St. Paul
Christina Wirtz, St. Paul Public Schools

SNIP Conference Rescheduled to October 27-29, 2021

The MSNA Executive Board has made the decision to reschedule the SNIP Conference from May 5-7 to October 27-29th at Breezy Point Resort in Brainerd, MN, due to the uncertainty of the coronavirus. We are following all CDC and state guidelines and are looking forward to meeting safely, in person in the fall. Conference and hotel registration will open in August! For more details, click here.

SNA Annual National Conference Will Be Virtual This Year 

Given the uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and especially due to continued concerns for the health and safety of all members, industry partners, volunteer leaders, staff, and other stakeholders, SNA has announced its Annual National Conference (ANC) will be held virtually during the week of July 12, 2021. For more details, click here.

COVID-19 Waivers, Free School Meals Extended to Sept. 30

The non-profit School Nutrition Association (SNA) applauded the announcement by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack of the extension of key COVID-19 Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) and Seamless Summer Option (SSO) waivers through September 30, 2021. SNA has called for waiver extensions to address ongoing challenges of school meal service during the pandemic and to ensure all hungry students continue to have safe access to healthy school meals whether they are learning in school or from home. SNA supports extending COVID-19 waivers through School Year 2021/22 to maintain grab-and-go meal options and pandemic safety measures for students and staff.